Home : Town Board > Town Board Minutes

Selected Town Board Minutes
Town Board Meeting
Sep 18, 2013
PDF Version: 32433_2013-Sep-18_Town Board Meeting.pdf

Town of Oregon

Special Town Board  Meeting

September 18, 2013


            Chair Darryl Weber called the Special Town of Oregon Board Meeting to order at 6:30 pm on September 18, 2013 with the following Town Board Supervisors present:  Wayne Ace, Fred Clark, Steve Root, Phil Van Kampen, and Clerk Denise Arnold.  Also present were Deputy Clerk Jennifer Hanson, former Treasurer Rhonda Christensen LaFlash, former Supervisors Chris Johnson and Pen Beasley.

            Supervisor Root shared that Eagle Scout Candidate Mike Lucas would like to create exercise stations at the Kennedy Park.  This was suggested by the Oregon Rope Pullers and they will assist with the project.  The design would include 10 stations designed for all ages and various physical abilities.  Scout Lucas would like to complete the project yet this year.  Motion made by Root and seconded by Van Kampen to approve up to $2,000 for the Exercise Station Eagle Scout Project located in Kennedy Park.  Motion carried. 

            Root shared information for Anderson Farm County Park regarding an email from Laura Guyer of Dane County.  The County would appreciate the Town’s services to install a new culvert at the entrance to the informal parking area at the Anderson Farm County Park by October 16th.  This would include snow plowing the area at the end of the Town’s plow routes after roads and other priority areas have been taken care of.  The Town would be reimbursed for the work and the 16” proposed culvert installation.  Public Works employee Ryan Zurfluh has that snow plow route and has agreed that he would maintain the area.  Motion made by Root to approve the Town’s installation of a 16” culvert and provide snow removal at the Town’s convenience when the ground is frozen.  Motion seconded by Van Kampen.  Supervisor Clark asked why we would continue to support a Dane County owned park?  Why should the Town support their park?   Root has grown tired of hearing about the lack of communication between the Town and County and would like to proceed with the project in the spirit of cooperation with Dane County.  Root feels the level of consideration would be greater if the Town of Oregon was more agreeable with this project.  Weber feels we have our own parks to maintenance and why should the Town cooperate when the County took our land away without a cooperative agreement, when will the special requests stop?   Ace wants to cooperate to ensure a good future relationship and we will be reimbursed for our efforts.  If it is too much work for the Town changes in the future could be made.  Motion carried. 

            The Town Board received a letter of resignation dated September 12, 2013 received from Treasurer Rhonda Christensen LaFlash on September 13, 2013 that was effective immediately.  The office of Treasurer is a two year elected position and must remain that way until the term is complete April of 2015.  The salary cannot be adjusted either.  Chair Weber called upon the Clerk to report progress regarding the appointment.  Clerk Arnold suggested the position be held in the Clerk’s Office and the work related to the position be completed by current Deputy Clerk Jennifer Hanson.  The Wisconsin Town’s Association Attorneys advised the Clerk’s Office that the work may be completed by the Clerk’s Office and the Appointed Treasurer would only be required to sign checks and be authorized on Town Accounts.  The eventual goal would be to change the position from elected to appointed and have the duties performed by an appointed Deputy Clerk/Treasurer.  The Clerk suggested that former Town Of Oregon Treasurer Rhonda Christensen LaFlash fill the appointed Treasurer position until the term is complete in 2015.  LaFlash agreed to fill the Appointed Town Treasurer position and Hansen has agreed to complete the work and reporting required.  Clerk Arnold felt this would allow for a smooth transition with information being exchanged between Treasurer and Deputy Clerk.   LaFlash has held the position since April 13, 1999.  The decision for the Treasurer appointment  would be made by The Town of Oregon Board Supervisors.  LaFlash thought that she could share useful information and provide a nice transition.  Hanson said she worked well with Rhonda and thought the plan would work.

            Ace thought that if the Clerk and Deputy wanted this he would support the appointment.  Ace wanted the Clerk to have authority on all the accounts with LaFlash.  Ace also inquired if Hanson was

Town Board Meeting Minutes

Special Meeting

September 18, 2013

Page 2


prepared to increase her work hours.  Hanson assured the Town Board that she was fine with the situation and was looking to increase her work hours.  Clark supports the plan as a good solution to the problem. Root wanted the accounts brought back locally to Oregon for ease of deposits.  Van Kampen does not support the LaFlash appointment.  LaFlash made it perfectly clear she submitted a resignation and it should cleanly end there.  Weber thought that the job would be better served this way as Hanson learns the job by working with LaFlash.  Former Supervisor Chris Johnson supported the appointment and thought that LaFlash could share the knowledge she holds from all the years of service. 

            Motion made by Ace and seconded by Clark to appoint Rhonda Christensen LaFlash to the position of interim Town of Oregon Treasurer position until April 2015.  Motion carried.  Van Kampen voted no to the motion. 

            Supervisor Root informed the board that Kennedy Park has been surveyed however payment is currently being withheld due to corrections that are still needed. 

            Motion made by Van Kampen and seconded by Root to go into closed session pursuant to Wisconsin State Statute § 19.85 (1)© to discuss personnel.  Motion carried.  The Clerk recorded the Supervisors present in closed session then was dismissed for the remainder of the closed session.  Supervisors present by roll were Phil Van Kampen, Steve Root, Fred Clark, Wayne Ace and Chairman Darryl Weber. 


Respectfully Submitted,

Denise R. Arnold


Archive View all from: 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004