Home : Town Board > Town Board Minutes

Selected Town Board Minutes
Town Board Meeting
Jan 03, 2012
PDF Version: 17389_2012-Jan-03_Town Board Meeting .pdf

Town of Oregon

Town Board Meeting Minutes

January 3, 2012

            The Town of Oregon Board Chairperson Darryl Weber called the January 3, 2012 Town Board Meeting to order at 7:00 pm with the following supervisors present Wayne Ace, Jerry Jensen, Chris Johnson, Park Chair Steve Root and Clerk Denise Arnold.  Absent:  Supervisor Phil Van Kampen Assessor Andy Blomstrom, Treasurer Rhonda Christensen LaFlash and Constable Gary Wackett.

            Motion made by Johnson and seconded by Ace to approve the meeting minutes from December 6, 2011 as presented.  Motion carried.

            Motion made by Ace and seconded by Johnson to accept the Financial Report as prepared and submitted by Treasurer Rhonda Christensen LaFlash.  Motion carried. 

            Scott Kiley from MSA gave a presentation of a Geographic Information System (GIS) that is being offered by MSA.  This system could assist the Town in useful decisions made from the information provided by GIS.  Some of the information would be parcel related, road signage and culvert conditions including pictures.  Road improvement projects could be tracked in this system along with measurement tools.  The base expense would be $6,000. to set the program up and $1,200. to $1,500. per year for maintenance.  The program is user friendly and information could be entered by the Town or by MSA with additional fees. 

            Chair Weber inquired if there were any public comments there being none the next item on the agenda was discussed. 

            Park Chair Steve Root requested that the Eagle Scout Presentation by Alec Meier be added to the February 2012 Town Board Meeting. 

            Motion made by Jensen and seconded by Weber to approve Land Division and Rezone number DCPREZ-2011-10378 to reconfigure the existing CSM and rezone property off of Wilderness Way.  Jensen also added that a deed restriction be placed on the property to prohibit any additional development.  This was a lot line adjustment not a land split.  Motion carried. 

            Park Chair Steve Root reported that the tree trimming has been completed and paid for.  There is a project proposal from a potential Eagle Scout candidate Lucas Walowit for Della Park.  Walowit has researched with the neighbors as to what would be most appropriate for the park.  He learned that there is a need for a play area for a population of younger children.  The proposal includes a sand pit and landscape for an estimated cost of $3,350.  The Park Committee would like board approval for $3,500. for the project.  A bobcat from the Town has been requested.  Motion made by Weber and seconded by Ace to approve expenditures of up to $3,500.00 for the Eagle Scout Project at Della Park.  Motion carried.

            Clerk Arnold shared that the Assessors computer has been evaluated and should be replaced.  The Clerk arranged for backup of the Assessors laptop.  There are two external hard drives and Assessor Blomstrom will switch those out once per month.  Blomstrom will have a daily back up with Computer Magic and has arranged for a time when the laptop must be on and logged into the internet.  An upgrade in Market Drive Computer Software should also be purchased as recommended by Greg Gracyalny of Computer Magic.  It was recommended that Assessor Blomstrom retain the old laptop for personal use and keep the new laptop limited for the Town’s Assessor Records and Town Business only.  Motion made by Ace and seconded by Johnson to approve the purchase of the $600.00 software package from Assessment Technologies and $1,477.00 for a new laptop purchased from Computer Magic.  This includes the setup and transfer of data.  Motion carries. 

            Motion made by Weber and seconded by Jensen to approve the adoption of the 2012 Wisconsin Department of Transportation Classified Equipment Rates.  Motion carried. 

            Clerk Arnold shared a building permit report for the month of December there was one permit application. 

            The Constable submitted a report prior to the Board Meeting which was provided for the Supervisors for November and December.  Constable Wackett has reduced his patrolling due to work conflicts and budget reasons. 

            Page 2

Town Board Meeting Minutes January 3, 2012


            The Clerk provided a copy of the proposed 2012 & 2013 Administrative Services Agreement – Village of Oregon and Oregon Area Fire/EMS District.  The Village would assume the financial reporting at no charge.  A copy of the OAFED payment that was just paid was also provided.  The payment was for the joint loan payable to the Town of Dunn for $8,121.47. 

            Chair Weber reported that the Plan Commission discussed the Wilderness Way property changes and worked on the Town of Oregon packet for submittals.

            The Board reviewed a Public Works progress report prepared and submitted by employee Abel Schultz. 

            Future agenda items include the Eagle Scout presentation by Alec Meier, a request for the Clerk to follow up on the Computer purchase for Assessor Blomstrom and discussion and possible action            regarding the MSA presentation from the January 3, 2012 Meeting. 

            Motion made by Weber and seconded by Jensen to approve the December 2011 payment vouchers in amount of $87,341.29.  Motion carried. 

            Clerk Arnold shared that a training request from a group of individuals that would like to become Special Registration Deputy has been received.  The Clerk and Deputy Clerk would prefer to register voters at the Town Hall.  A meeting for training will be held before the next board meeting. 

            Motion made by Jensen and seconded by Weber to approve the list of 2012-2014 Election Inspectors. Motion carried.

1)         Ruth Klahn, 157 County Highway MM2)           2)        Myra Hann, 850 Tipperary Road

3)         Ruth Jeschke, 4929 County Road A                 4)         Sandra Shackelford, 5549 Windridge Rd.

5)         Julie Seaborg, 1517 Forest Glen                       6)         Kathy Dauck, 492 Sugar Hill Road

7)         Maria Kluever, 6001 County Road A                  8)         Laura Richardson, 482 Sugar Hill Road

9)         Barb Wiedenbeck, 1164 S. Fish Hatchery       10)       John Wiedenbeck, 1164 S. Fish Hatchery

11)       Tom Wiedenbeck, 1164 S. Fish Hatchery       12)       Esther Huntoon, 804 County Road D

13)       James Huntoon, 804 County Road D              14)       Chris Johnson, 541 Union Road

15)       Robert Johnson, 541 Union Rd                        16)       Susan Lethem, 999 Glenway Rd.


            Motion made by Jensen and seconded by Ace to adjourn the January 3, 2012 Town Board Meeting at 8:15 pm.  Motion carried.


Respectfully submitted,

Denise R. Arnold








Archive View all from: 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004