Home : Plan Commission > Plan Commission Minutes

Selected Plan Commission Minutes
Plan Commission Minutes
Jun 20, 2017
PDF Version: 53372_2017-Jun-20_Plan Commission Minutes.pdf

 Town of Oregon 

Planning Commission Meeting Minutes 

Tuesday, June 20, 2017



1.         Call Plan Commission meeting to order.

Chair Brian Duffin called the Regular Plan Commission Meeting to order at 6:35 p.m. on June 20, 2017.


2.         Roll Call.

Present:  Chairman Duffin, Sharon Christensen, Arlan Kay, Dave Hagemann and Arlen Christensen. 

Absent:  Andy Blomstrom and Paul Morrision.

Also Present:  Town Board Chairman Wayne Ace and Deputy Clerk/Treasurer Jennifer Hanson.


3.         Approval of minutes from the last meeting.

S. Christensen moved, seconded by A. Christensen to approve the Plan Commission Meeting Minutes from May 16, 2017.  Motion carried 5-0.


4.         Public Comments.

There were no public comments.


5.         Reappointment of Plan Commission Members Dave Hagemann and Sharon Christensen.

Members Dave Hagemann and Sharon Christensen accepted a three year reappointment to the Plan Commission.  The appointments will be confirmed the next town board meeting.


6.         Discussion and possible Action re: Review of the Town Comprehensive Plan.

Duffin said the plan commission discussed incorporating transfer of development rights (TDR) into the comprehensive plan at the last work session.  The town first discussed TDR when creating the comprehensive plan ten year ago, but at that time the county didn’t have a policy.  In 2010 Dane County created a TDR policy with Ordinance Amendment 45 (OA45).  The town would need to establish sending and receiving areas.  The plan commission discussed the sending areas being anyone that owns a split.  There is concern in OA45 that the county requires 35 acres of land to be put into a conservation easement which would possibly bury both the development and mineral rights.  There was additional concern because not everyone that owns a split would also own 35 acres of A-1 zoned land.  Duffin asked Deputy Clerk Hanson to arrange for Brian Standing from Dane County Zoning to attend the next plan commission work session to discuss TDR and RH zoned properties.  There is a county policy allowing for bonus splits on land that is highly valuable to be saved.  The additional bonus splits would be an incentive to move those splits to other areas in the town.  The plan commission wants to understand what authority the village will have if the town adopts TDR.  The county doesn’t mandate the sending and receiving areas, so they can be either a blanket area or on a case by case basis.  The plan commission discussed the sending area to be the entire township, but the receiving areas be on a case by case basis.  The buyer and seller would need to come before the plan commission for approval of TDR.  There was discussion regarding the conservation easements with the DNR on property in the town.  The plan commission wanted to know if someone sold their split could they them buy back a split at a late date.  The next plan commission work session will be either on Wednesday, July 5 or Tuesday, July 25 at 6:30 p.m. depending on Brian Standing’s availability.  The plan commission will invite the town board members to attend the plan commission work session.          



7.         Discussion of possible Action re: Intergovernmental Boundary Agreement with Village of Oregon.

Kay had an informal conversation with Mike Gracz, Village of Oregon Administrator.  The village is encouraging developers to go west.  Duffin doesn’t feel there is much to gain from having a boundary agreement.  The village doesn’t want to install pump stations.  There was discussion on the church property on County Highway CC that was recently bought for development.  The village will go east with industrial and commercial development.        


8.         Communications.

There was a discussion on Beth Cox’s property being zoned incorrectly by Dane County.  The town tried to amend policy 1f on RH zoned properties in 2012, but the amendment was tabled by the county.  Duffin would like at a minimum to rewrite policy 1f to make it clearer.  There was discussion regarding the RH zoned properties right to future splits.  Duffin said it is confusing because in 1994 with exclusive agricultural there was no language that addressed these RH properties.  In the mid 80’s the only restriction on development was a minimum of 2 acres.  Beth Cox and Steve Root have both expressed interested in future land developments.  The 2012 amendment capped the number of splits at 4.


9.         Adjournment.

S. Christensen moved, seconded by Hagemann to adjourn the meeting at 8:50 p.m.  Motion carried 5-0.



Respectfully submitted, 



Jennifer Hanson  

Archive View all from: 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005