Home : Plan Commission > Plan Commission Minutes

Selected Plan Commission Minutes
Town of Oregon Plan Commission Meeting Minutes
Jul 19, 2010

  1. Call Plan Commission meeting to order.
    Chairman Weber called the plan commission meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. In attendance were Chair Darryl Weber, Tom Wiedenbeck, Andy Blomstrom, Brian Duffin, Sharon Christensen and Deputy Clerk, Jennifer Hanson. Absent were David Hagemann and Paul Morrison.
  2. Approval of minutes from the last meeting.
    Motion Blomstrom/Christensen seconded to approve the June 21, 2010 meeting minutes. Motion carries.
  3. Appearance by Brian Standing, Dane County, re: follow-up work from DATCP and possible update to comprehensive plan.
    Brian Standing, Dane County Senior Planner, appeared to discuss the zoning changes needed on parcels in the town to bring the Town of Oregon's Farmland Preservation Plan into compliance. After receiving feedback from DATCP, the county changed the town's zoning map and farmland preservation plan map. Mr. Standing received the zoning changes suggested by the plan commission at last month's meeting. He made all the changes except the Arlan Kay and Wingra Stone parcels. Those parcels will require additional research and staff parcel status determination. Mr. Standing was given the changes made on page 5.

    He will make those changes and get them back to the plan commission for review. The draft petition should be ready for a Dane County supervisor to introduce. Mr. Standing would still like to hold the county public hearing on August 27th. The plan commission decided to hold the town public hearing on Monday, August 9, 2010. The county will mail letters to the affected parcel owners and notify them of the hearing dates. Mr. Standing explained that this will follow the normal rezone process. Due to the large number of rezones there could be changes made after the town public hearing. Mr. Standing would like the town to act as soon as possible on any changes that may happen after the town public hearing due to the short timeline. Dane County will be rewriting the entire Farmland Preservation Plan and notices are going out next week for minor changes being made to the comprehensive map and Farmland Preservation map. The state may de-certify land zoned A-3 for farmland preservation credits, however there is a lot of land in the town that is farmed and zoned A-3. Mr. Standing explained some of the possible solutions for lands zoned A-3. The Town of Oregon is only one of two municipalities in Dane County with A-3 zoning.
  4. Public Comments.
    There were no public comments.
  5. Discussion and possible action re: updating Comprehensive Plan to include limited transfers of density units allowed.
    Mr. Standing said there is additional information available on the county website on transfer of development rights (TDR). Mr. Standing explained the process for the town to adopt TDR. Currently there is interest in TDR but not any action. Town of Cottage Grove, Springfield, Primrose, Cross Plains and Perry have all expressed interests in TDR. Mr. Standing believes there needs to be incentives to stay out of sensitive areas and educating developers on transfer of development rights. The purpose of TDR is to share the windfall of money among multiple landowners and not just one landowner. Mr. Standing believes that outreach is important for this program to work. TDR also only works when the building market is hot. Since the market is down TDR is not being used, however Mr. Standing believes it is good to have these policies in places for when the market rebounds. There was no action taken.
  6. Discussion and possible action re: updating application paperwork for land split, re-zone or CSM.
    Agenda Item tabled.
  7. Communications.
    The plan commission discussed the issues in the Town of Perry and Hauge Church. Chairman Weber reported that he and Mr. Blomstrom viewed the additional driveway request at 6267 Ahwahnee Ct. They determined that the location cannot support an additional driveway.
  8. Adjournment.
    Motion Duffin/Hagemann seconded to adjourn the meeting at 8:40. Motion carries.

Respectfully Submitted,

Jennifer Hanson

Archive View all from: 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005